Author Topic: Canning lids for commercial jars?  (Read 5277 times)

Lilburner

Canning lids for commercial jars?
« on: August 06, 2015, 03:24:14 PM »
I do a lot of my own cooking, but just being me, I rarely cook the labor intensive sauces and such.  And since I'm not a huge vegetable eater, about half my vegetable intake comes from salsa, so I generate a lot of jars.

Stumbled across these - http://www.kitchenkrafts.com/product/twist-off-jar-caps-63-mm-12-pk/canning-lids-rings-caps

Those will fit a lot of the commercial sauce jars. Can they be used to utilize jars in home canning? I notice they say "water bath canning". That's different from pressure canning, isn't it? I just have got a propane outdoor stove and now I'm shopping for a canner, so I'm a real beginner here. More of a "pre-beginner", really

« Last Edit: August 06, 2015, 04:03:52 PM by Lilburner »
A strong conviction that something must be done is the parent of many bad measures.
~ Daniel Webster

tlwagg

Re: Canning lids for commercial jars?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 05:17:14 PM »
I would buy the plan old Ball lids, they are made to use on those jars, you need to have a tight fit. If you get the lids and rings your can reuse the rings.
"I prefer dangerous freedom to peaceful slavery." - Thomas Jefferson

"Political correctness is tyranny with manners." - Charlton Heston

Lilburner

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2015, 05:19:09 PM »
Where do I get all the different sizes?

I've only seen "regular" and "widemouth" sizes of standard rings and lids. I thought it was a standard. I've never seen the little bitty one like would fit a sauce jar.
A strong conviction that something must be done is the parent of many bad measures.
~ Daniel Webster

tlwagg

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2015, 08:39:42 PM »
Sauce jar, are you talking about the little 4 ounce jars?

There are only two sizes for the jar mouth, regular and widemouth. I have 4, 8, 16, 32 and a couple of 64 ounce jars and they all use one or the other.