Author Topic: Maker Spaces  (Read 3115 times)

Carrot

Maker Spaces
« on: December 19, 2016, 12:18:28 PM »
There are "Maker Spaces" in Atlanta and other cities where everyone pays a monthly fee and gets access to heavy workshop equipment that the average (city) person would never have. This includes forges, welding equipment, car repair equipment, carpentry workshops, etc. and classes on how to use them. If you're marking your emergency road map, I suggest adding maker spaces. Lilburner reminded me of this.

I've listed some links below. Please note that anywhere noted as a "hackerspace" may be more technology focused. In this case, "hackers" are people who jury-rig things together to make them work, not people who break into computers.

There may be more, but here is a some.
Georgia

    Freeside Atlanta (possibly the largest in the state) https://wiki.freesideatlanta.org/fs/Our_Space
    Geekspace Gwinnett - Lawerenceville http://www.geekspacegwinnett.org
    Decatur Makers - Decatur http://decaturmakers.org
    Berry College - Mt Berry http://www.hackberrylab.com
    Hatch Athens - Athens http://www.hatchathens.com
    The Clubhouse - Augusta http://theclubhou.se
    Maven Makers - Savannah http://www.mavenmakers.com
    Engineering For Kids - Metro Atlanta http://engineeringforkids.com/metroatlanta
    Southeast Makers Alliance - Atlanta http://southeastmakersalliance.org
    The Maker Station (Marietta) - https://decaturmakers.org
    https://wiki.hackerspaces.org/Georgia

Alabama

    Red Mountain Makers - Birmingham http://www.redmountainmakers.org
    Mobile Makerspace - Mobile http://makerspacemobile.org
    https://wiki.hackerspaces.org/Alabama

Florida

    MakerFX Makerspace - Orlando http://www.meetup.com/MakerFX
    FamiLAB - Longwood http://familab.org
    https://wiki.hackerspaces.org/Florida

Kentucky

    LVL1 Hackerspace - Louisville http://www.lvl1.org
    https://wiki.hackerspaces.org/Kentucky

North Carolina

    The Forge :: Greensboro Makerspace http://www.forgegreensboro.org/
    Raleigh Makerspace http://www.raleighmakerspace.com/
    https://wiki.hackerspaces.org/North_Carolina

South Carolina

    https://wiki.hackerspaces.org/South_Carolina

Tennessee

    Knox Makers - Knoxville http://knoxmakers.org
    Make Nashville http://makenashville.org
    https://wiki.hackerspaces.org/Tennessee

florida44

Re: Maker Spaces
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2016, 07:22:14 PM »
that has to be the coolest thing I have heard of in a while. I am all for classes that teach girls to do this type of stuff. Getting a guy to have the patience and time to teach you while working on a project is........trying all around :)

I think I see some new classes in my future
Region 2
"I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason, and intellect has intended us to forgo their use." - Galileo Galilei

Lilburner

Re: Maker Spaces
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2016, 10:00:11 PM »
They always seem so expensive to me.

Last I looked, the Gwinnett one didn't have a full-sized CNC machine, which is about all I'd be interested in paying $50/mo for. I'd buy my own 3D printer on a credit card for that if that was my primary interest.

Of course even if they have a full size CNC, they might have some "opinions" on what you make on it  8)

A strong conviction that something must be done is the parent of many bad measures.
~ Daniel Webster

Carrot

Re: Maker Spaces
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2016, 11:14:04 PM »
Lilburner, the Associate level is $25/month and their about page states that they have a CNC machine.

Warning, Maker spaces tend to lean to the left.

Nemo

Re: Maker Spaces
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2016, 11:34:24 PM »
Then they might now recognize or realize what it is you are making.  But there might be some onboard limiting programs that would prevent it?

Nemo
If you need a second magazine, its time to call in air support.

Came into this world screaming, kicking and covered in someone else's blood.  Don't mind going out that way.

God made Man, Colt made him equal, Browning made that perfection, Gaston Glock turned perfection to plastic fantastic junk

Lilburner

Re: Maker Spaces
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2016, 11:49:35 PM »
Lilburner, the Associate level is $25/month and their about page states that they have a CNC machine.

Warning, Maker spaces tend to lean to the left.

Ah - I see the $25 membership now. I went to an open house when they advertised a CNC machine and it was a disconnected rusting tabletop thingie that wasn't running.

I think they may have had their open house too soon. I see they're having another one I might check out.

And yes, very left - hipsters abound. But if you think about it, it's LITERALLY communist at its core.
A strong conviction that something must be done is the parent of many bad measures.
~ Daniel Webster

 

SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2022, SimplePortal