Author Topic: Is this a black rat snake?  (Read 3138 times)

ProGeek

Is this a black rat snake?
« on: June 01, 2017, 10:12:29 PM »
This guy is hanging out in the goat stall.

« Last Edit: June 01, 2017, 10:14:59 PM by ProGeek »
If the freedom of speech is taken away then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter.

joebob

Re: Is this a black rat snake?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2017, 10:31:06 PM »
Looks like it. It would be good to keep around to keep the rodent population under control. But if you have chickens I have been told they will eat eggs and small chicks.

florida44

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2017, 04:31:16 AM »
looking at shape of head pretty sure not poisonous but I am no expert. When I see or hear of a snake I go running and screaming like a girl so I never get a good look!!!  :-[
Region 2
"I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason, and intellect has intended us to forgo their use." - Galileo Galilei

SS-Preppers

« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2017, 12:02:36 PM »
That's what it looks like to me.......they have just a very faint patterns on the underside and the rest is all black............

ProGeek

« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2017, 12:51:49 PM »
It has a faint brown pattern and white chin. We are going to try relocating it from the stall.
If the freedom of speech is taken away then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter.

Nemo

« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2017, 01:05:07 AM »
I see no venom indicators.  Head shape has no triangle to it and (from what I can see) pupil shape is round.  Either of those is definitive.

Look him in the eye, if round pupil, no venom.  If slit like a cat, surely venom.

Coloring also indicates no venom. That color it could only be possibly a cottonmouth.  But headshape voids that.  A cottonmouth that large would be serious triangle head.

If you get him safely in hand, look at his underbelly.  See below.

Nemo