Author Topic: Prepper Camp 2021  (Read 3354 times)

upacreek

Re: Prepper Camp 2021
« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2021, 01:40:19 PM »
My 4th year is in the books. This was as good as the other years. I’m very new to homesteading stuff. I’m further along with the stereotypical prepping stuff. This camp has stuff for anyone, but especially people trying to get information on a new skill (or 20 new skills). It’s 3 days of classes with 6 classes a day (each class period has 7 to choose from). In between, before, and after the classes you’re surrounded by other preppers and homesteaders. You can talk to people you’ve listened to on podcasts or saw on TV and they welcome you to pick their brains.

My highlights from this year are:
Ham radio - I’ve had my general license for years and don’t even know how to turn the stupid thing on. Any idiot (me) can pass the test. The instructor had a set up at his booth area and gave demonstrations and advice all weekend.

Survivor Jane’s Prepping Priorities- it reminded me an awful lot of my statistics geek late husband’s six sigma exercises we did when planning for the big expenses/projects in our lives. SJ just put a prepper spin on it.  It’s a simple planning tool that I’d forgotten about that makes tough decisions pretty easy to decide. Plus, her sense of humor makes it fun to listen to.

The mushroom guy - supposedly he threw the presentation together in just a week or so. Clearly he knows more about mushrooms in his little finger than I’ll ever know. My biggest lesson learned was that there are an awful lot less poisonous mushrooms and deadly lookalikes than I imagined. I’ll be heading into my woods with some full color notes or books soon.