Author Topic: Helpful Hits For Raising Chickens...  (Read 891 times)

Abigayle

Helpful Hits For Raising Chickens...
« on: June 29, 2022, 03:08:12 PM »
I have been raising chickens for around 45 years now.  I learn something new everyday.  This week, I tried something that I have heard about for awhile now.  It is adding a cup of food to two cups water, shake and let sit.  In a few days, it will start to perk and break down.  At this point, it can be fed to your chickens.  Why do this?  Check out U-tube, but the general idea is that it will dissolve.
the kernel allowing the chicken to digest more of the feed.  Those doing it claim they are feeding less now and their birds look great.
So I have tried it for the first time.  For me, the major benefit, is using layer pellets.  I have never had a chicken that preferred pellets over crumbles.  Recently, I could not get crumbles at two local feed stores, including Tractor supply.  So, I used the pellets to experiment.  They broke down beautifully.  I put out regular grower crumbles, with about 10% pellet in the turn out area.  Then, I put the "slop" in a feed bowl.  The rooster never left the bowl and the ladies joined him.  They are for a longer period of time.  Down side, rinsing out the bowl.  I have started two more jars, to make sure it was not a lark.
Many of you have raised chickens a long time.  I am sure you have some helpful hints to those just starting.  From what I hear, there are a lot of those out there.  After reading some of the stupid advice on places like Pinterest.  I think people could use some help from those who have actually done it more than six months.  Also if you are new, and have questions.  I am sure someone here would be very willing to help you, so ask away.  I will add some new sub topics to this site, if there appears to be interest.
Ariel

HogJowlHomestead

Re: Helpful Hits For Raising Chickens...
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2022, 05:34:49 PM »